Sivilizin’ the Folks……..

I was in coal country just now, and my employer, apparently put off by the outrageous cost of a Holiday Inn Express (best free breakfast of any national chain) put me up at a dingy “resort” or conference center.

Some kind of meeting of social workers and similar professions was being held. The people in the restaurant had that vibe about them……. A little above average intelligence, well-fed and satisfied with themselves. I picked up some local business magazine and it’s all about “developing” the area. Lots of stuff about law firms, agencies, NGOs, quangos.

I don’t know what’s to be done for the hill people. But I can see it’s a big business pretending to do something for them, while doing nothing for them. I think Wheeler deals with these people all the time, not just the church folks, and I can sense the reason for his overwhelming disgust.

About thrasymachus33308

I like fast cars, fast women and southern-fried rock. I have an ongoing beef with George Orwell. I take my name from a character in Plato's "Republic" who was exasperated with the kind of turgid BS that passed for deep thought and political discourse in that time and place, just as I am today. The character, whose name means "fierce fighter" was based on a real person but nobody knows for sure what his actual political beliefs were. I take my pseudonym from a character in an Adam Sandler song who was a obnoxious jerk who pissed off everybody.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sivilizin’ the Folks……..

  1. Pingback: Sivilizin’ the Folks…….. | Neoreactive

  2. Ryu says:

    Big Biz indeed. There’s alot of ego and pride in American charity. It says “I’m better than you are.”

    The hill people would be fine if just left alone. I suppose if they were out of coal, and men of military age, the USG would lose interest. I do not think putting up a Starbucks or Walmart will help them.

Leave a Reply

