Andrew Sullivan, RIP

(RIP is Retire In Peace, I’m sure I will have a BIH (Burn In Hell) when he dies.)

Andrew Sullivan is retiring from blogging, since it’s just too much work. Boo hoo hoo. My job is stressful, hectic and frustrating, but I’m not quitting, because I need the money.

Writing is much less work than actual work. I write when I have time, because yes it takes time to write something coherent, even if it’s pretty simple. I don’t get any money for it, and I have a job. If someone was paying me to write, I could do it several times a day. To produce good output, how much time do you need to spend reading and researching as compared to how much time writing? For what word count? I’m not a professional, I don’t know. Steve Sailer produces actual intellectual content, multiple times a day, far more deeply researched than anything Sullivan ever did, and you don’t see him whining.

Sullivan is a typical example of how things have gone to hell over the last 30 years. He used to be a regular opinion writer. Then, as it got to be with the rest of the elite, it got to be all about him. What he liked, what he thought was important for his life, what made him angry.

Progressives used to shape society for power and control. It was to their liking and benefit of course, but it wasn’t personal. It wasn’t about them, it was about other people. But it got to the point that power was not enough. They were always free to have their vices, the rich always are, but eventually their vices had to be praised as virtues. This has been going on with sex for maybe 150 years, as E. Michael Jones lays out in Degenerate Moderns. Then it got to be about media and entertainment, then family structure, and in the 90’s business practices. In the 00’s gay marriage, and now marijuana use.

The elite is quite enervated. You can’t indulge yourself for years, decades and not burn yourself out on self-indulgence. Sullivan can’t be too rich, but he has a beach house so he must have a little socked away, and he can still write and probably make money doing speeches.

Sullivan’s problem is probably not that he is so physically tired, but that having gotten everything he wants there is nothing to rail for any more. Obama will be gone soon, the Supreme Court will mandate gay marriage, and more states will legalize marijuana. Unless he can think of a new cause, he’s just endlessly repeating himself, and even a person as solipsistic as he gets tired of that.

Sullivan signals the enervation and entropy or progressive culture- I think this is the start of a new trend. Is/was Sullivan Peak Homo? I guess we will see.

About thrasymachus33308

I like fast cars, fast women and southern-fried rock. I have an ongoing beef with George Orwell. I take my name from a character in Plato's "Republic" who was exasperated with the kind of turgid BS that passed for deep thought and political discourse in that time and place, just as I am today. The character, whose name means "fierce fighter" was based on a real person but nobody knows for sure what his actual political beliefs were. I take my pseudonym from a character in an Adam Sandler song who was a obnoxious jerk who pissed off everybody.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Andrew Sullivan, RIP

  1. Pingback: Andrew Sullivan, RIP | Neoreactive

  2. Steve Sailer says:

    “and you don’t see him whining”

    Did I mention my Spring fundraiser?

Leave a Reply

