Das Racist!

I was working with a black coworker last week. And to tell you the truth, he’s pretty lazy.

Isn’t that racist? Saying he’s lazy? There are lazier people on the job, and they are all white. And yet while no one hesitates to call a white person lazy- I started talking about one guy, and the guy I was talking about immediately cut me off and said “He’s lazy”- calling a black person lazy is very risky.

I wasn’t too eager to call him on it. I snapped at him once, after he made an error by not checking something it’s his job to check. He did not say “My bad” or “I’m sorry” or “Oops, I’ll be more careful next time, I should have caught that”, he just reacted pretty negatively.

The lazy white guy just kind of furrows his brow and says nothing, which is more socially acceptable but not quite as effective in discouraging criticism.

Part of the black guy’s deal is I think he thinks he’s going to get a significantly better job due to affirmative action pretty soon. Also as much as management complains about the crappy job we do, they never actually fire anybody and usually don’t even hold promotions, except in really egregious cases.

I happened upon him talking with another black guy, not an employee. They had been talking for a few minutes before I got there and I think the non-employee was on kind of a roll, and he started to talk about stuff I think normally blacks don’t talk about around whites. He was talking about how lame the city was, and how he couldn’t smoke, and how he was outside once smoking and some lady (I’m assuming white) objected so he blew smoke at her until he left.

The guy was obviously a thin-skinned jerk with an attitude, which describes a lot of people, possibly even me, but there was something distinctly black about his thin-skinned jerkiness. Had the guy been white, no one would hesitate to call him out, but a black guy?

But maybe that’s just racist.

About thrasymachus33308

I like fast cars, fast women and southern-fried rock. I have an ongoing beef with George Orwell. I take my name from a character in Plato's "Republic" who was exasperated with the kind of turgid BS that passed for deep thought and political discourse in that time and place, just as I am today. The character, whose name means "fierce fighter" was based on a real person but nobody knows for sure what his actual political beliefs were. I take my pseudonym from a character in an Adam Sandler song who was a obnoxious jerk who pissed off everybody.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Das Racist!

  1. Pingback: Das Racist! | Neoreactive

  2. icareviews says:

    Regarding blacks and smoke, this reminds me of a little incident I recently experienced at a McDonald’s. A black guy was loitering right outside the door and smoking as I was leaving – clearly in violation of the posted policy – but I, being an agreeable and polite sort of person, and fairly accustomed to blacks’ behavior – and, professionally domesticated as I am from years in my public sector desk job, not being one to risk irritating that thin skin you mention – thought nothing of it and would have forgotten about the man in a second if not for two Mexicans who were entering as I was leaving. One of them scolded the black guy and explained to him that the policy was posted plainly for everyone to read.

    The incident struck me as symbolic on the civilizational level. I, the white guy, restrained by my inoffensive nature and by the centuries of accommodating manners and protocol that developed among European peoples, find myself tolerating a rudeness that the Mexicans in their numerical strength will be unwilling to countenance from the blacks. They, as they enter, will be unmoved by blacks’ howls about racism and privilege. Mexicans can’t be sold white guilt, nor will they relinquish the group identity whites have been persuaded to forget for political and professional reasons. I, on the other hand, if I offend a black person in the workplace, have to worry primarily not about the black coworker’s ruffled feathers, but about the cowardly PC appeasement I can expect from my fellow whites.

  3. I, for one, will not inform against another smoker unless his smoking is likely to cause something exothermic. If I think the other smoker could get in trouble, I will speak — politely — directly to him or her. [Expletive deleted] the smoke-haters:They louse up so much for everyone else.

  4. Pingback: White Guilt Explained… | Carthago delenda est

  5. jonolan says:

    Simply put, it is considered racist to hold any Black to an objective – dare I say White – standard of behavior, dress, deportment, hygiene, and/or basic education or intelligence. You have to lower the bar quite low in order to avoid running afoul of the ethnoguiltists who are ever ready to persecute a White for not pandering to the Blacks.

Leave a Reply

