Pete Seeger, BIH

Communist folkie Pete Seeger is dead. He was, like most of his contemporaries such as Woody Guthrie, and enthusiastic Stalinist. As Hunter Wallace has mentioned, he was from an old Calvinist Yankee background.

Seeger will now answer for the evil he promoted. He said there was no individual soul, but I think he will find differently.

About thrasymachus33308

I like fast cars, fast women and southern-fried rock. I have an ongoing beef with George Orwell. I take my name from a character in Plato's "Republic" who was exasperated with the kind of turgid BS that passed for deep thought and political discourse in that time and place, just as I am today. The character, whose name means "fierce fighter" was based on a real person but nobody knows for sure what his actual political beliefs were. I take my pseudonym from a character in an Adam Sandler song who was a obnoxious jerk who pissed off everybody.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Pete Seeger, BIH

  1. Adion says:

    I wonder if he was even aware of what he and his ilk wrought?

  2. Hizzle says:

    I need to reread “The God that Failed.” Richard Wright, Andre Gide, and Ignazio Silone (among others) talk about their disenchantment with communism. Gide initially said something to the effect that communism would solve all of man’s ills, and then after visiting the Soviet Union he said it was the most evil force in history.

    I never understood the beauty of pre-revolutionary Russian society until I read Ivan Bunin’s writing, so I’ll have to go back and read some of his stuff (along with “200 Years Together”). Still, I can’t bring myself to say “Burn in Hell” to Seeger. I’ll piss on Tim Wise’s grave one day, though, God willing.

    • All the artsy-fartsy lefties- Pete Seeger, Woody Guthrie, Paul Robeson, many others- knew what was going on and approved of it. That most of the respectable people of the time felt the same way doesn’t make it less wrong.

      • Hizzle says:

        Still, I’d make a distinction between people who generally say “I fucked up” versus those who say, “I was never wrong.”

        It’s analogous to the Iraq War fiasco. As much of a milquetoast beta as Tucker Carlson is, he said, “I was wrong about the war in Iraq.” David Frum, meanwhile, is writing for what is ostensibly the flagship American liberal organ, and not only that, the guy isn’t even American, but is rather a Canadian who trudged down here to start a war with another nation’s citizens as pawns. His background no doubt keeps him from having to say mea culpas (“Frum” literally means “orthodox Jew” and he is Paul Krugman’s third cousin), but you must admit from a theological standpoint that man who admits he was wrong is less evil than one who goes about his business never acknowledging his failings.

      • Peter Blood says:

        Or he could be Whittaker Chambers and testify.

  3. V.E.G. says:

    His parents are gone now, but Pete will be remembered by his sister, Peggy.

  4. CamelCaseRob says:

    What does BIH stand for in this context?

  5. res0a7ta says:

    burn in hell, I believe. B I H

Leave a Reply

