The Attack on Syria

I only know what I read on Drudge but it looks like they want this one real bad. They have Petraeus, Graham talking about nukes- and all the Jewish organizations.

They almost always get what they want, but sometimes the heat from the mob is just a little too much. Write your Congressman.

About thrasymachus33308

I like fast cars, fast women and southern-fried rock. I have an ongoing beef with George Orwell. I take my name from a character in Plato's "Republic" who was exasperated with the kind of turgid BS that passed for deep thought and political discourse in that time and place, just as I am today. The character, whose name means "fierce fighter" was based on a real person but nobody knows for sure what his actual political beliefs were. I take my pseudonym from a character in an Adam Sandler song who was a obnoxious jerk who pissed off everybody.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Attack on Syria

  1. Hizzle says:

    I already contacted my representative, and he replied (I’ve always had good luck with this). I spent a year in Iraq, and still maintain contact with all my battle buddies. Nobody wants military action in Syria (no one I actually know, at least, across the political spectrum). Christ, the last couple of years nobody in the Army even wanted the war in Iraq anymore. Whoever we arm to take out Assad will pull a Bin Laden on us now, a decade hence, if not sooner. The George C. Marshall institute has put out multiple studies which show due to our meddling we’ve created seven times as many terrorists as existed at the start of the “war on terror.”

    It’s a long letter, but I’ll post verbatim what my rep said:

    “Thank you for contacting me to express your views on United States military intervention in Syria. Your thoughts are important to me as I work to represent you effectively in Congress.
    Since March 2011, Syrian rebels have been engaged in a bloody civil war that has killed more than 100,000 Syrians and displaced millions more. In June, the White House confirmed that the regime of President Bashar al-Assad had used chemical weapons, including the nerve-agent sarin, against its own people multiple times. President Obama had previously warned that the use of chemical weapons would be met with consequences from the United States. He authorized the expansion of military assistance to the opposition forces in Syria in the form of security assistance to Syria’s neighbors, nonlethal assistance to the Syrian rebels, and humanitarian assistance.
    On August 21, a chemical weapons attack in Syria killed over 1,000 civilians in rebel-held suburbs of Damascus. According to our national intelligence, the Assad regime is responsible for this attack against its own people. President Obama stated that the United States should take military action against the Assad regime, but he also declared that he will consult Congress before committing U.S. military assets in Syria.
    I welcome the President’s decision to consult with Congress. As a veteran of the Iraq war, I am carefully weighing possible action by the U.S. military and its potential outcomes. I have serious concerns about the unintended consequences surrounding possible strikes, from empowering Al Qaeda-linked rebels to negatively impacting our allies in the region. Furthermore, as we have learned from Egypt and Libya, the successful removal of Assad from power would not solve all of Syria’s problems. Among the rebels, there is a wide range of views about the future of Syria, and no single group has emerged as the clear leader. The violence in Syria is fueled by sectarian fissures, which are spilling over to neighboring countries in the region and could worsen with Assad’s removal. I am also worried about what could happen to Syria’s chemical weapon stockpile during a regime collapse. Before committing our military, we must ensure that our objectives are clearly outlined and attainable. I believe President Obama must clearly address these concerns and make his case to the American people.
    Congress is expected to consider a resolution regarding Syria during the week of September 9. In order to clearly understand the situation, I spent Labor Day weekend on calls with the White House and the House Armed Services Committee, receiving updates and gathering further information about the ongoing crisis in Syria and possible responses. In the coming days, as a member of the House Committee on Armed Services, I will participate in further classified briefings. Sending our military into action is one of the most important decisions I can makes as a U.S. Representative, and I take that duty seriously. I appreciate knowing your views as I prepare to cast this important vote.” Again, thank you for contacting me on this issue.”

    Better than nothing, I suppose.

  2. Jim says:

    So the Iranians will nuke us if we don’t bomb Syria? These people must assume that Americans are idiots. Maybe they’re right. Look how many Americans believed the utter nonsense that the Bush Administration gave as a justification of the Iraq Invasion.

  3. Ryu says:

    I think it’s just a brick in the wall, a small thing. The end would be near even if not for Syria. I’m enjoying th eshow.

Leave a Reply

