Via Media/Walter Russell Meade Closes Comments

“The end of an era” he calls it. I’m really not surprised. I was blocked there if not from my first comment, then from the second. Andrew Sullivan has no comments at all. Ta-Nehisi Coates has comments but aggressively bans any non-sycophants. The difference is these two are idiot, boorish leftists and Meade is a thoughtful, perceptive mainstream conservative. But in either case people who aren’t with the program show up and cause trouble.

About thrasymachus33308

I like fast cars, fast women and southern-fried rock. I have an ongoing beef with George Orwell. I take my name from a character in Plato's "Republic" who was exasperated with the kind of turgid BS that passed for deep thought and political discourse in that time and place, just as I am today. The character, whose name means "fierce fighter" was based on a real person but nobody knows for sure what his actual political beliefs were. I take my pseudonym from a character in an Adam Sandler song who was a obnoxious jerk who pissed off everybody.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Via Media/Walter Russell Meade Closes Comments

  1. Ryu says:

    The American Interest – is this a conservative rag? I don’t see the appeal of them for someone like you. In what areas do they push, where do they really do something special?

    My brief investigation pins them as coffee table kosher conservatives. They seem to be so far behind the curve they don’t even know what MRM, PU, IRV or WN are. Maybe you were there to recruit.

    I don’t agree with closing comments. It feels like hero worship, like the dedicated writer and his admiring fans. I think flaming is great! What does a guy do under pressure? He won’t always be around his buddies.

    • Much of what he writes is standard neocon stuff. He does sometimes write stuff that borders on the uncomfortable- “The Compromise of 1977” could have been a Paul Kersey post rewritten to be inoffensive. I think he is aware of the alt right and appreciates that issues raised by the alt right are important. Steve Sailer notes that various NYT writers seem to read him, and edit his ideas for political correctness.

      Editing and banning comments is on mainstream sites partly out of pique and desire to oppress opposing viewpoints, but it’s also self-censorship. Not censoring an idea gives the impression that even if you don’t agree with it, you find it socially acceptable to hold.

Leave a Reply

