Me And My Commenters

Black people love the Trayvon Martin case. I got a huge spike of traffic in the initial flurry about two weeks ago, and another with the arrest. As a result I have more commenters, a few polite ones at first, and now some more nasty ones.

It has been recommended I ban them. I don’t want to do that because I get banned everywhere- there are white nationalist sites that ban me. My feeling is, say what you want. I don’t have a narrative to manage, like Ta-Nehisi Coates. I’m thinking out loud. I’m not afraid of the truth, and I’m not afraid of lies either.

The thing is some people follow the leftist custom of insulting anyone who disagrees with them. It’s a time-honored tradition, but let me explain how insults work.

First the person being insulted has to care. They need to have face to gain or lose. Praised, they feel good and become more important; criticized or shamed, they feel bad and become less important. This is an anonymous blog devoted to my own personal weirdness. If people love it and agree with me, I get a little warm fuzzy feeling, but I can’t tangibly benefit from it. If people hate it and me, well, being hated by people I don’t know, who don’t know me and who I will never meet does not really bother me. Leftists have one basic argument- “If you disagree with me you are evil.” Yeah, I’m evil. I figured that out a long time ago.

Insults and threats require a real audience, not a pseudo-audience. Leftism is social, not intellectual. That’s why leftist talk radio never took off. The radio is an anonymous venue where disembodied voices talk about ideas and to be truthful, feelings. The host is not anonymous, and may take a lot of social shaming for hosting a conservative show, but he can go right to the edge of respectability and past it a little bit. Rush Limbaugh isn’t welcome in the cooler places- not that I’m saying he’s any kind of intellectual paragon- but he makes way too much money to care.

If you don’t like white people, or conservatives, or crackers, or white nationalists, or rednecks, or whatever label you want to pigeonhole me with, you are welcome to say so. But I bore easily, so if you can, please give me something to think about.

About thrasymachus33308

I like fast cars, fast women and southern-fried rock. I have an ongoing beef with George Orwell. I take my name from a character in Plato's "Republic" who was exasperated with the kind of turgid BS that passed for deep thought and political discourse in that time and place, just as I am today. The character, whose name means "fierce fighter" was based on a real person but nobody knows for sure what his actual political beliefs were. I take my pseudonym from a character in an Adam Sandler song who was a obnoxious jerk who pissed off everybody.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Me And My Commenters

  1. mindweapon says:

    Yes, it’s quite interesting how leftist talk radio never did work. The David Pakman show, to take an example of a current show, is just endless college dorm moralizing how they are so superior to the rest of the world. They like to invite straw men on their show and make fun of them. As a consumer of a lot of radio (something to keep me company while I do office work), I find Pakman very dull unless he’s interviewing a White nationalist, which is pretty rare.

    Limbaugh isn’t bad background noise. Kunstlercasts are a real treat. Kunstler is a Jew but he has a fundamentally conservative worldview, and not a NRO type conservative. there’s no blacks in his “World Made By Hand” books, and he bashes the negros pretty hard in “The Long Emergency.”

    But yeah, “I’m so morally superior” gets old real quick.

    • A/G says:

      Some alternative leftist-type podcasts can be pretty good. In terms of bringing to your attention some good facts who might have missed and those types generally abhor “liberals” and make a much more thought out analysis. Just saying.

  2. Joe says:

    I don’t know what happened between Trayvon and Zimmerman, but I don’t think Zimmerman was as community-minded and herioc as a lot of people are depicting him. Zimmerman saw himself as some kind of hero cop– going out on town every night, armed and intentionally looking for criminals.Who gave Zimmerman the authority to play cop? It’s one thing to carry a gun for self protection,it’s another thing to go out every night carrying a gun and looking for criminal activity– something he was doing for months before he shot Trayvon. He was a one man vigilante show — he is not as innocent as many make him out to be. I don’t know if Trayvon was a criminal or not. What I do know is that Zimmerman’s vigilante behavior has caused more problems for the law abiding citizens of this country– law abiding citizens of all races– than Trayvon ever did. Zimmerman was a vigilante and now he’s hiding behind Stand Your Ground laws. As vigilantism is illegal, he has no right to Stand Your Ground laws. The law wasn’t meant to protect self-appointed vigilantes.

  3. Comments removed as requested. I didn’t understand whether the commenter wanted to remove his own comments, or somebody else’s but now I understand. There is no perfect internet privacy but if you want to say things the “large, self-assured black woman” in HR might not like, get an anonymous account with an anonymous email address.

Leave a Reply

