Mainstream Conservatives Suck, Black People Blow- Restaurant Racism

H/t to Sir Lawrence of Auster, the Washington Examiner, a sort of mainstream conservative/neocon aggregator with opinion, posts without comment a claim that restaurants are racist. Mainstream conservative writers are the kind of people who don’t ever work in food service, they are too good for that, so they think a study about racism- RACISM! published by black sociologists can be taken at face value.

Read the comments. I delivered pizzas for some years. Blacks tip poorly if at all. I was set up for a robbery by a black customer. I made the deliver and the woman was talking to a friend. She was a bit quiet and her friend (also black) asked “Is something wrong?” I thought nothing of it. I exit the building and go down the sidewalk to my car, and two black guys are standing there, not talking. I thought nothing of it. As I get to my car I hear somebody running up to me, and one of the black guys is on me, grabs me with his left hand and holds a knife up to my left side with his right hand and request my money.

The guy’s mother knew what was going to happen. I think this represents some kind of pattern of street robbery- wait for a victim, one guy follows and robs while the other waits in case the first guy has any trouble. I delivered a pizza to the backup guy some time later and he did tip me- a quarter.

If I was to give Paul Bedard credit, I would say he posted this knowing he would get a blizzard of outraged comments by people who had actually worked in restaurants, thus making the point that the study is obviously false. From what we have seen from mainstream/neoconservatives over the last few years, I don’t think I can do that. People like David Frum, Ross Douthat, and the NR crew want to show that they aren’t like the prole conservatives who work humble jobs, either their whole lives or while they are in school.

About thrasymachus33308

I like fast cars, fast women and southern-fried rock. I have an ongoing beef with George Orwell. I take my name from a character in Plato's "Republic" who was exasperated with the kind of turgid BS that passed for deep thought and political discourse in that time and place, just as I am today. The character, whose name means "fierce fighter" was based on a real person but nobody knows for sure what his actual political beliefs were. I take my pseudonym from a character in an Adam Sandler song who was a obnoxious jerk who pissed off everybody.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Mainstream Conservatives Suck, Black People Blow- Restaurant Racism

  1. A/G says:

    That’s a terrible story. Was that your only bad encounter with blacks? I’ve never had a bad encounter with them but I’ve heard that many have. What were they like?

  2. mindweapon says:

    The main reason to avoid black people is so that you’ll never get accused of racism.

    • A/G says:

      Since school I don’t run into many these days. But I think avoiding or ignoring them might become “racist” too. What do you think?

  3. Mr. Roach says:

    I waited tables for a while when I was in college. I had no particular thoughts about blacks as tippers before. That’s the thing, no one starts out waiting tables prejudiced. But I learned, quickly. Teenagers too. Both the worst groups, but the former was particularly bad for stiffing you. Almost every time. Everyone groaned when “they” were in your section.

Leave a Reply

