Police Report (Initial) on the Shooting of Trayvon Martin by George Zimmerman

Quite brief but contains the basic facts of what the first police officer on the scene observed.

It’s sad and grim- as grievous, or full of grief, is the word I’m grasping for- as only a police report can be. “I then noticed what there was, what appeared to be a black male wearing a gray sweater, blue jeans and white/red sneakers laying face down on the ground. The black male had his hands underneath his body. I attempted to get a response from the black male, but was met with negative results.” That’s Trayvon Martin, dead. He made a lot of bad choices, but he was immersed in a culture screaming in his ear day and night to make bad choices. Adults are responsible for properly socializing children. But the people responsible for him also had the same voices screaming in their ears. I don’t really have any sympathy for blacks but they have been cruelly used by people claiming to be their friends.  A few blocks from where I live a black kid about Martin’s age murdered a gas station attendant in a robbery. In that case the dead person and the shattered family were not black. The angry, foolish black boy will leave prison before he’s forty. On the balance I’m glad it’s the anti-social idiot who’s dead this time.

The shooting was investigated. The scene was taped off. Zimmerman was handcuffed, treated by the paramedics, and taken to the police station to be interviewed by a detective. It doesn’t seem that Zimmerman was formally arrested. Cops avoid arresting people because it restricts their ability to question them. “Why don’t you come down to the station and tell us what happened?” gets them more words than “You have the right to remain silent.”

The first cop notes Zimmerman’s injuries and the moisture and grass stains on his back. He notes Zimmerman’s statement “I was yelling for someone to help me, but no one would help me.” I think that counts as a spontaneous statement and is in line with what other witnesses were saying.

The detective’s name is Singleton. If Singleton thought he had a case against Zimmerman, he would have made it.

About thrasymachus33308

I like fast cars, fast women and southern-fried rock. I have an ongoing beef with George Orwell. I take my name from a character in Plato's "Republic" who was exasperated with the kind of turgid BS that passed for deep thought and political discourse in that time and place, just as I am today. The character, whose name means "fierce fighter" was based on a real person but nobody knows for sure what his actual political beliefs were. I take my pseudonym from a character in an Adam Sandler song who was a obnoxious jerk who pissed off everybody.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

