Stuck on Stupid

I was at my usual coffee place the other afternoon. There is a guy who works there in the afternoons, and I never paid him much attention before. Very tall, some kind of dark-complected Caucasian. This day though he was haranguing his coworker, a white woman, going on loudly, angrily, and at length about “institutional racism” and how hard it is for a minority to understand white society and get by. At some point he admitted that he was actually white– being Hispanic gives you the wonderful possibility of being both white and an oppressed minority- but that didn’t slow him down. He mentioned how he wished people didn’t only think of cocaine when they thought of Colombia, and how there everybody was so cool about race.

The guy sounded reasonably intelligent and articulate- yeah, I said it, he was an articulate minority- but the education he had received- he mentioned he was 30, so I assume he had some college education- had actually made him stupider. And as a consequence, American society had wasted a lot of money and made itself stupider.

I thought about interjecting myself into the conversation, but one of the rules of white society- he obviously hadn’t figured out quite a few yet- is you don’t get involved in other people’s business. And you don’t loudly harangue people in what is supposed to be a quiet public space, especially if you’re working.

How can you resurrect a society buried deep under a mountain of idiotic lies? I don’t think you can. Highly dysfunctional societies can function, but they usually exist on a basis of low-level agriculture and natural resource extraction. You might have Bolivia, you might have Saudi Arabia, but nothing better.

About thrasymachus33308

I like fast cars, fast women and southern-fried rock. I have an ongoing beef with George Orwell. I take my name from a character in Plato's "Republic" who was exasperated with the kind of turgid BS that passed for deep thought and political discourse in that time and place, just as I am today. The character, whose name means "fierce fighter" was based on a real person but nobody knows for sure what his actual political beliefs were. I take my pseudonym from a character in an Adam Sandler song who was a obnoxious jerk who pissed off everybody.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Stuck on Stupid

  1. white (not hispanic) says:

    Reminds me of a guy I knew who used to talk of such things and also liked to sat “Guatemala” with a spicy accent. hay savor! Unfortunately he was pale as the day is long with green eyes and stood at 6’2″ which is gargantuan by Guatemalan standards. But he had a Spanish surname (and an American Atlantic accent) though.

Leave a Reply

