“Racism” versus “Truism”

People who are clearly what would be called racists- which isn’t a hard standard to meet in America, it simply means departing from the orthodoxy, not simply on blacks, but on any matter tangentially related to blacks- deny being racists. If you believe in HBD, let’s be real, you are a racist. Progressive Robert Lindsay believes in HBD but claims because he doesn’t have animosity towards blacks he isn’t a racist. I don’t think that gets him off the hook though.

Am I a racist? Well, that would make a bad, horrible, rotten, irredeemable person, so I’m reluctant to say yes. I was reading a book by an evangelical pastor recently and he needed the example of a really bad person, who would have a real hard time with God. So he used “a racist”.

I would prefer to describe myself as a “truist”. I observe things about black people that are true. If these things are bad, I think it hardly reflects poorly on me. If something is true, then it’s true. If it is bad, it reflects poorly on the person who is displaying the bad characteristic, not the person who is observing it.

About thrasymachus33308

I like fast cars, fast women and southern-fried rock. I have an ongoing beef with George Orwell. I take my name from a character in Plato's "Republic" who was exasperated with the kind of turgid BS that passed for deep thought and political discourse in that time and place, just as I am today. The character, whose name means "fierce fighter" was based on a real person but nobody knows for sure what his actual political beliefs were. I take my pseudonym from a character in an Adam Sandler song who was a obnoxious jerk who pissed off everybody.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

