Banned!

I like to read TheAtlantic.com. God knows why- it’s particularly depressing, but I feel the need to find out what the liberals are up to. I don’t read Andrew Sullivan much any more, since he’s pretty predictable.

Megan McArdle is the token libertarian, and she’s reasonable. James Fallows is a pretty revolting shill for the Chinese Communists. Conor Friedersdorf is faux conservative of the David Frum type. Clive Crook is a liberal Brit who writes for the Financial Times, which keeps him from being completely insane. It’s your basic stand up and shout slogans establishment liberalism, but since these people are magazine writers as well they have to come up with a little bit of content.

The Atlantic was a good magazine for a while a long time ago, when it was edited by Michael Kelly. He was killed in a Humvee accident in Iraq, and it has been pretty crappy ever since.

I post comments sometimes there, using the Disqus comment system. In general they are fairly tolerant of conservative viewpoints. The exception is Ta-Nehisi Coates, a sort of lukewarm black power race man, who styles himself as a thoughtful intellectual. Not so thoughtful that he can mentally process a viewpoint that seriously disagrees with his own. His comments section is very popular, populated mostly by white liberals who tell themselves how wonderful they are. Anyone not adhering to racial orthodoxy- not being rude, just offering a counterargument- is banned quickly.

TNC likes the Civil War, and he is particularly enamored of the idea of black people killing white people. A thread today gives an example of a slave who extrapolates her anger at the owner who abused her and her family- quite reasonable and justified anger- to hatred of “white folks” in general.

I volunteered this was a little disturbing. I was assured this was quite justified. I suggested her anger and hatred was legitimately applied to some white people, but not to all white people. I was again assured this was quite justified. I said this was a matter of “collective guilt” and warned off.

The moderator’s exact words were “no need to worry about collective guilt.” If they want to stick their fingers in their ears and say “nah nah nah I can’t hear you” or just banned me- again- I suppose that would have been one thing. But they are telling me what I do or don’t need to worry about, which is going a little too far. TNC’s final response and warning was that I was “off topic” which for him is sort of a catch-all for “I don’t like what you’re saying”, or less charitably “nah nah nah I can’t hear you!”

So- blacks, and white liberals, believe blanket hatred of white people is justified. Middle class black people will not express that violently, but lower class blacks with less at risk will act on this anger, in the form of attacks on white people. It’s OK! The Atlantic says so!

About thrasymachus33308

I like fast cars, fast women and southern-fried rock. I have an ongoing beef with George Orwell. I take my name from a character in Plato's "Republic" who was exasperated with the kind of turgid BS that passed for deep thought and political discourse in that time and place, just as I am today. The character, whose name means "fierce fighter" was based on a real person but nobody knows for sure what his actual political beliefs were. I take my pseudonym from a character in an Adam Sandler song who was a obnoxious jerk who pissed off everybody.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Banned!

  1. Sector 19 says:

    That place is just sickening… Take a look at what one of those prostrating white nabobs linked to and so “loved”: http://jubiloemancipationcentury.wordpress.com/2011/05/03/usct-regimental-flag-22nd-united-states-colored-infantry/

    If that’s not reason enough for a rematch, I don’t know what is.

    • It’s not about love, it’s about hate, and for those people, the more hate the better. Orwell wrote something about revenge I’ll talk about at some point. But these people are sick.

  2. Stevn says:

    Alternet.org is the same. Well, maybe less tolerant of racial conservative viewpoints. I’ve been banned from ever commenting on their site again. All because I pointed out that by their standards the preamble to the Constitution should qualify as racism because of the founders appeal to their own kind, their posterity. It could be worse though. Some leftist blogs will take your post, reword in ways opposite and sometimes obscene ways in what was attempted to be conveyed, and then post as you with e-mail unhidden.

  3. Aaronovitch says:

    If your comments are being taken down, I would take it as a compliment.

Leave a Reply

