Andrew Sullivan, Church Lady

Musing over my last post, and reading Andrew Sullivan (it’s better than sniffing glue, if only slightly) and one of his attacks on conservative Christianity, it occurred to me America is run by earnest Victorian Methodist ministers and church ladies- him not being a minister, that would make him a church lady. It’s an insult to church ladies everywhere, but it seems appropriate. Sullivan claims to be a Roman Catholic of the beard-stroking intellectual sort (perhaps another reason for his obsession with beards) but just as Moldbug traced Richard Dawkins’ militant atheism quite easily to this kind of belief, so can Sullivan’s reproachful liberalism.

About thrasymachus33308

I like fast cars, fast women and southern-fried rock. I have an ongoing beef with George Orwell. I take my name from a character in Plato's "Republic" who was exasperated with the kind of turgid BS that passed for deep thought and political discourse in that time and place, just as I am today. The character, whose name means "fierce fighter" was based on a real person but nobody knows for sure what his actual political beliefs were. I take my pseudonym from a character in an Adam Sandler song who was a obnoxious jerk who pissed off everybody.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

