Anti-Semitism? No, Anti-White-ism

Many years ago I reported to the 10th Marine Regiment at Camp Lejeune as a new 0801, or basic field artillery officer. I saw the regimental adjutant, who was to assign me to a battalion. I remember being unimpressed with the fellow, a somewhat harried lieutenant. It was a job assigned to somebody they needed to put somewhere, for whatever reasons, personal or military- a lieutenant I knew later was assigned the job when his wife got seriously ill.

The man immediately told me, without any courtesies or preliminaries, “You’re going to 5/10.” First let me explain infantry and artillery battalions in the Marines are commonly refered to by battalion number and regiment number. Thus the 3rd Battalion of the 8th Marines is 3/8, or “three-eight”. (Let me further explain regiments are almost always referred to in the plural, thus the 2nd Marine Regiment is just the 2nd Marines.)

I did not want to go to 5/10. 5/10 was the self-propelled general support battalion and as such never went anywhere or did anything. I immediately said “I’d like to go to 2/10”. 2/10 was the direct support towed unit supporting the 6th Marines, which had the mission of covering Latin America. If there was going to be a war, they would be going, and that’s what I wanted to do.

He was of course having none of it. Actually “having none of it” implies he was disputing or denying my request, rather than just ignoring it, which is what he did. Again he told me “You’re going to 5/10”. “Can I go to 3/10?” I asked. 3/10 was the direct support unit for the 8th Marines, which rotated on ships out to the Mediterranean, fun and exciting duty. “You’re going to 5/10” was his answer. I was not liking where this was going, but I wasn’t giving up. “Can I go to 1/10?” 1/10 supported th 2nd Marines, the North Atlantic unit, and might mean a nice trip to Norway at some point. “You’re going to 5/10”. “Can I go to 4/10?” 4/10 was the towed general support unit. At least there I would be away from the M109 self-propelled howitzers we had studied in Army artillery school and I could work with what I regarded as the real Marine weapon, the  M198. “You’re going to 5/10” was his final answer.

I went to 5/10 for about a year and as I had feared I was bored out of my skull, stuck in a non-deploying, last-priority unit with junk equipment and bored troops. Boredom is a serious enemy of discipline and morale.

The point being, I was a young man, and even more than doing fun and exciting things I was possessed by the idea that I wanted to kill Communists. I had developed a hatred for these filthy, evil creatures and I wanted to send a few to hell myself.

But the Jews did not put me up to it. I developed this hatred all by myself. Why would I want or need a Jew to learn about the world and draw conclusions about it? If I hated Communism it was because I hated lies and bullying, and I came from an environment where there were plenty of both.

A current topic at VDare, sparked by the death of Joseph Sobran, is the way people get smeared as anti-semites-

http://blog.vdare.com/archives/2010/10/10/seig-heil-to-christopher-badeaux-book-burning/

I don’t see Sobran as that much of a martyr. And I reserve the right to be offended by him for my own reasons, which is that he believed things that were obviously stupid and untrue (a very liberal characteristic, see my previous post on the subject) and yet thought I was stupid.

My letter to VDare-

“The tedious and stupid thing about those refered to as “anti-semites” is not that they attack or criticize Jews- I myself attack and criticize Jews, and I think others should be free to attack and criticize Jews, as a group or as individuals, as they see fit.
 
The tedious and stupid thing is that they believe all Gentiles- except themselves- are fools and morons being cleverly manipulated by the perfidious Jews, without minds of their own to decide what positions they will take.
 
It’s possible people support the wars in Iraq and Afghanistan because they regard attacking and neutralizing threats there is good for the US, not because it is good for Israel. It’s possible people support Israel for their own reasons, and not because they have been brainwashed by the Jews.
 
He who says the Jews are behind it all insults me- which offends me- but he also insults himself, because he is saying the Jews are cleverer than him and are always fooling everybody and he can’t get them to see the truth. That doesn’t offend me, but it’s sad. “

About thrasymachus33308

I like fast cars, fast women and southern-fried rock. I have an ongoing beef with George Orwell. I take my name from a character in Plato's "Republic" who was exasperated with the kind of turgid BS that passed for deep thought and political discourse in that time and place, just as I am today. The character, whose name means "fierce fighter" was based on a real person but nobody knows for sure what his actual political beliefs were. I take my pseudonym from a character in an Adam Sandler song who was a obnoxious jerk who pissed off everybody.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

