My Letter to Peter Brimelow

Paleoconservative writer Joseph Sobran died recently. VDare published a last article from him, which in the poor man’s memory they should have just trashed, as it consists of the typical paleo gassing. Unfortunately that’s a big part of what VDare publishes, so they put it up.

http://www.vdare.com/misc/101003_sobran.htm

I sent this to Brimelow-

“Frankly the office politics of the magazine called National Review and the manners and mores of what passes for society in New York are of little interest to the public in general. The magazine was Buckley’s ball and if he wanted to take it and go home that was his right. I haven’t read it in years as mainstream conservatism has been boring and stupid for a long time.

Why would Sobran have “staying out of a war” as a primary value? And I’m surprised he didn’t know that the US military is staffed by volunteers, and he needed not fear for his sons unless it was their choice to join, Then he would be like Cindy Sheehan, which seems about right.

This trope of “neoconservatism” is quite tiring. I’m sure you know well the original meaning of the term. Why a few utterly marginal characters get to decide who is a real conservative is beyond me. Unfortunately “conservative” in the US refers to a variety of philosophies united only by temporary convenience. I don’t find discord sewn by Sobran any more palatable than the discord sewn by Frum.

It’s not all about the Jews. It’s not even primarily about the Jews. If no Jews existed the situation in the Middle East would be little different. The Jews are and always have been just tools; usually tools of the left, sometimes tools of the right. If the builder doesn’t have one tool, he uses another. Of course it’s just as anti-semitic to say Jews don’t run the world as to say that they do, hence my pen name.

In the Marines I was once subjected to a seemingly endless rendition of “The Battle of New Orleans” by some southerners. And I got the message- “we are the *real* Americans. The US exists because of *us* and the rest of you are guests.” But the South is not the US.

I sent you $100 on your appeal and asked you if it wouldn’t be too much that you dropped truther Paul Craig Roberts. You wrote me back saying he was quite popular with readers but I shouldn’t worry, he was retiring soon. And yet he persists.

I’ll publish this letter on my blog as well.

Sincerely,

Steve Polychronopoulos”

About thrasymachus33308

I like fast cars, fast women and southern-fried rock. I have an ongoing beef with George Orwell. I take my name from a character in Plato's "Republic" who was exasperated with the kind of turgid BS that passed for deep thought and political discourse in that time and place, just as I am today. The character, whose name means "fierce fighter" was based on a real person but nobody knows for sure what his actual political beliefs were. I take my pseudonym from a character in an Adam Sandler song who was a obnoxious jerk who pissed off everybody.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

