The Plutocracy

I was steered by the Drudge Report to a NYT editorial that was basically just a reformatted White House press release-

http://www.nytimes.com/2010/08/29/opinion/29sun1.html?hp

It would have been worse without the stimulus, the Republicans are ruining everything, the Bush tax cuts are evil and must expire- the usual talking points. I don’t expect much of papers but the #1 paper should be able to make it sound like it’s their ideas. Although I think at the Ivies these days it’s acceptable to copy stuff from Wikipedia for your homework.

There’s something else though- the middle class must sacrifice. Web ads change all the time but on my first viewing the top ad was for restored apartments on the left bank of Paris, something about being the leader in pied-a-terres, traditional charm with modern convenience, etc.

For the hedge fund people who financed Obama into office it’s all a big joke anyway- as long as money is flowing around, they will get theirs, and their lovely apartments in Paris.

About thrasymachus33308

I like fast cars, fast women and southern-fried rock. I have an ongoing beef with George Orwell. I take my name from a character in Plato's "Republic" who was exasperated with the kind of turgid BS that passed for deep thought and political discourse in that time and place, just as I am today. The character, whose name means "fierce fighter" was based on a real person but nobody knows for sure what his actual political beliefs were. I take my pseudonym from a character in an Adam Sandler song who was a obnoxious jerk who pissed off everybody.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

