Mencius Moldbug

Mencius Moldbug is blogger of a different color. He never puts in 10 words what he can put in 1000 and he deals in obscure concepts that are largely his own invention. He is needless to say a complete crackpot, but I’m a crackpot myself so I can’t hold that against him.

Here is his blog-

http://unqualified-reservations.blogspot.com/

It is very hard to read in sequence, but someone has arranged his posts by date and subject-

http://moldbuggery.blogspot.com/

I remember reading a trashy novel my dad brought home from the library when I was a kid. Now I can tell the author was going for Conrad- a guest is asked to relate his story, and he asks if he should tell the long or short version. As I remember the host left it to him, and he chose the long version, for reasons of authenticity and aesthetics.

Critics took Conrad to task for the length of his Marlowe stories, but he defended himself by saying if read out loud they would take something like two or three hours, which is certainly reasonable for a story told over dinner and a few bottles of wine afterwards. I personally prefer the long version. A story is not much without nuance and asides, there is much important that can be left out.

Still, Mr. Moldbug abuses the privilege. However if you have a lot of time on your hands scanning his writings is at least very thought provoking. (If you read his writings in detail, you really need to get a hobby.)

Moldbug doesn’t like democracy and thinks things have been going downhill since Cromwell. His argument for this is the huge piles of dead bodies produced by the political upheavals of the 19th and 20th centuries. His definition of democracy is very broad- he includes communism, fascism, and Nazism. For those who argue these aren’t democracy, I think he would reply that you call what you like democracy, and what you don’t like something else.

He calls what I call the “master culture”, “cryptocalvinism” or “universalism” and traces its descent from the dissenting churches of England to its present form. He calls these the “low churches” while I referred to them as the “high churches” because they are the churches of the New England elite, but he is more correct.

I think he makes the error of taking an idea and pushing it farther than you can really take it, but if you have some time on your hands and are looking for something thought provoking it’s worth a look.

About thrasymachus33308

I like fast cars, fast women and southern-fried rock. I have an ongoing beef with George Orwell. I take my name from a character in Plato's "Republic" who was exasperated with the kind of turgid BS that passed for deep thought and political discourse in that time and place, just as I am today. The character, whose name means "fierce fighter" was based on a real person but nobody knows for sure what his actual political beliefs were. I take my pseudonym from a character in an Adam Sandler song who was a obnoxious jerk who pissed off everybody.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mencius Moldbug

  1. mobiuswolf says:

    I believe you have saved me the trouble. ;o)

Leave a Reply

